“Who Do I Think I Am?!”

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our Light, not our Darkness, that most frightens us. – Marianne Williamson

“Who does she think she is?”

When I read the above quote from one of Brene Brown’s books, I literally had to put the book down and take a few deep breaths.

Let’s be honest, she nailed it.

I had/have that thought every time I sit down to write one of these posts.

Who am I to have an opinion on forgiveness, relationships, love, friendship and on and on?

Who cares what I have to say about any of these things?

So, I take a deep breath and write anywayI know why I am doing this. I’ve been studying these concepts for over 15 years. I talk about this stuff all day. It’s a personal challenge to try and articulate these abstract concepts in blog form. And, in many ways, learning these concepts saved my life.

I’m doing this to create a dialogue and community around these ideas. Which has already started to happen! I love the feedback I’ve gotten about the topics and posts. And, I love (LOVE) the suggestions and ideas for future topics. So, please keep them coming.

I’m not trying to stand on some mountaintop and proclaim that I’ve figured this stuff out (that quote belongs to Kevin).

Let’s be real, no one has this figured out.

Also, I love to read real stuff and real stories, whatever that means. And, I love quotes because they feel like little bite size pieces of perspective.

What’s the worst that can happen? No one reads it. People think it’s dumb. People talk about how dumb it is.

What is the best that can happen? A growing community and open dialogue around compassion, love, kindness, happiness and understanding (ambitious, I know). 

When I sat and thought about those outcomes, I realized that the scary ones happen anyway. People talk about you behind your back, anyway. Some people will never like you, anyway. Some people are going to think this is dumb no matter what I say.

I’m reminded of the final scene from 8 mile when Eminem disarms the other rapper in the rap battle.

I know everything he’s got to say against me
I am white, I am a f-ing bum, I do live in a trailer with my mom

Forgive me, I know Eminem has some rather crass and homophobic lyrics. I don’t support his entire canon.

What I liked about his approach was his self-awareness. I feel like I have a pretty crushing sense of awareness in terms of what people could say about me and/or the people I love. There is real power in knowing those things and accepting them as part of my truth. Shame can only grow in the shadows and I’ve made it a goal to keep a constant watch on my shadows.

So, who do I think I am? Depends on the day, the hour, the minute. 

Honestly, I don’t think it matters. I don’t think that’s the point when one considers creating things and putting it out into the world.

I’m going to keep breathing, keep writing, see what happens.

YOLO, right?

1

Image found: https://www.pinterest.com/thethingswesay/courage-quotes/

7 thoughts on ““Who Do I Think I Am?!”

  1. I thank you you really are a fantastic writer I need that to get my day started. I also read several quotes daily . You have made me so very proud. You are flying and I don’t doubt that you will fly to the moon one day..I hope that you have lots of support. I think that you do. Or you would not keep this up . Thanks

    Like

  2. Nicely said!! In the end our truth is the only thing that matters. Did we live by the measure of our truth or did we spend our days trying to live against someone, something else’s measure of life!! Peace :o)

    Like

  3. I just listened to Daring Greatly on audiobook on my way to work this morning! I’m working on my shame resiliency at this point in my life and only until recently did I realize how much shame I was carrying. You creating this blog and “daring greatly” is a great example of conquering shame as it can’t stand being spoken about and only lives in silence and secrecy.

    Like

    1. Linz, I literally have to read the daring greatly quote daily to keep this up. The level of vulnerability takes me out sometimes. But, I need to be in the arena as messy as it feels! Thanks so much for reading and participating in SissyBeard. It means the world to me.

      Like

  4. “Embracing our vulnerabilities is risky but not nearly as dangerous as giving up on love and belonging and joy- the experiences that make us most vulnerable. Only when we are BRAVE enough to explore the darkness will we discover the infinite power of our light” -Brene Brown

    I highlighted brave because what you are doing is incredibly brave. It’s always darkest before the dawn is a quote that is popping into my head right now. Maybe we have to discover what’s in that darkness before we can appreciate what is waiting for us in the light?

    Like

Leave a Reply

