Congratulations! You Made It!

“It’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.” ~ Lewis Carroll, Alice In Wonderland.

“I did then what I knew how to do. Now that I know better, I do better.” – Maya Angelou

Dear You,

I am so proud of you.

You made it to today. This means that you have made it through the days and moments that felt impossible. This means you have survived the moments that felt unsurvivable. I must say, you look pretty fantastic given the road trip so far. You should smile and nod in pride at how much you’ve done and what you’ve accomplished given the challenges you’ve faced.

Please take a moment today and consider all the worried thoughts you had that did not come true. Hopefully, it seems almost funny or crazy now that you thought those things would happen. I hope it helps you to see how little worrying does for your life.

I hope you take a moment today to consider all the challenges you’ve faced and how you made it through those challenges. I want you to consider those darkest and scariest moments. I want you to thank yourself for the courage you demonstrated in those dark times. I am so glad you stayed the course and kept going. We need you here.

I hope you take a moment today and consider all the things you’ve learned about yourself and about this life. I hope you acknowledge your accomplishments and strengths. I hope you believe in yourself a little more now because of what you learned.

I hope you take a moment today and consider what you want for your life. I hope this involves a lot of love and connection. I hope you know that you are worthy of love just the way you are right now. I hope you believe me. I hope you consider supporting other people who may be struggling and remind them that they are lovable, too.

If you are struggling right now, I encourage you to reflect back on your life and consider challenges you’ve experienced in the past. I hope reflecting on the courage you had in those moments will remind you of the courage you have inside of you now. I hope you draw on that courage and use it to face your current challenge.

Finally, thank you. Thank you for being you, just the way you are. Perfectly, imperfect. Learning as you go, like the rest of us.

Love,

Me

“If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together… there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.”
A.A. Milne

Leave a Reply

