Dear Trump Supporters.

“Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing
and rightdoing there is a field.
I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass
the world is too full to talk about.” ― Rumi

Love is the number one value on my list. The biggest barrier to living a life I love is fear. I attempt to choose love over fear every time I am faced with a decision. I literally pause and think, “Am I choosing Love or Fear right now?” I think I am getting better about choosing love. I suppose it is my life’s work.

There is a concept in therapy called “parts work.” It helps people understand their feelings by separating them into different parts. When asked to describe the part of me that embodies Love, I visualize a relaxed woman wearing a comfortable cotton dress. When I visualize Fear, she is an anxious, frazzled, chain smoker, sitting in a dark corner looking suspiciously at passersby.

This past week has been fraught with images and messages of fear. In some ways this fear is justified. Horrible things are happening all over the world all the time. However, I refuse to live a life guided by fear. Even in the darkest times, I aspire for a life motivated by love. I firmly believe that love is the most powerful force in the universe. For today’s post, I felt compelled to do my best to distinguish between love and fear.

“Don’t give in to your fears. If you do, you won’t be able to talk to your heart.”
Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

Love Versus Fear

Love is contagious.

Fear is contagious. 

Love is you can.

Fear is you can’t.

Love is open

Fear restricts.

Love is vulnerable.

Fear is guarded.

Love is amazed.

Fear is unimpressed.

Love is satisfied.

Fear is ashamed.

Love is peace.

Fear is war.

Love is hopeful.

Fear is disgusted. 

Love moves forward.

Fear screams stop.

Fear is jealous.

Love is trusting.

Fear is resentful.

Love is forgiving. 

Fear is suspicious.

Love is honest.

Fear is deceitful.

Love is courageous.

Fear is panicked.

Love is inspired.

Fear says it is not worth the risk.

Love is excited.

Fear is exhausted.

Love is grateful.

Fear is entitled. 

Love is listening. 

Fear is arguing.

Love is flexible.

Fear is certain. 

Love says, “You’ve got a lot to learn”

Fear says, “You know it all.”

Love is interested.

Fear asks us to hate what we do not understand.

Love is adventurous.

Fear tells you to hide.

Love encourages you to show the world who you are.

Fear is unimaginative.

Love is creative.

Fear says if you try you might fail.

Love says if you fail, try again. 

Love encourages you to try new things and talk to different people.

Fear tries to protect you from things that are not dangerous.

Love is the acceptance of human imperfection.

Fear is righteous indignation.

Love is curious compassion.

Fear says it is best to leave words unsaid.

Love says I want you to know how much you mean to me.

And The Winner Is

Love is always worth it and love always wins. Fear never even leaves the gate.

Love pulls the reins from the frazzled chain smoking lady in the corner and says “It’s okay, I got this.”

Love. 

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”
Lao Tzu

Leave a Reply

