This Year Answered Questions.

“There are years that ask questions and years that answer.”
Zora Neale Hurston, Their Eyes Were Watching God

Today is the last day of 2015. For me, this year both asked and answered questions. I will say, that it was the first year in a very long time that answered more questions than asked. I’m not sure if one is better than the other but tying up loose ends does feel good.

This year I learned, in ways that shocked me, to let go, and trust that things will work out. I have much more faith in the power of prayer/hope/wish/intention. I let go in a number of areas of my life and things fell into place in ways I would never have guessed. For this, I am incredibly grateful.

I learned that when you live your values (mine being: love, gratitude, adventure, connection, compassion) your life falls together in a magical way. Of course, there are always struggles and pains. There is no day that passes without some sour. But, when you know what you want for your life and you know what direction you’re heading, it makes the sour more palatable. Identifying my values, knowing what I want for my life, and having the courage to go after what I want were my major accomplishments of 2015. I will continue on this path in 2016.

But what of the struggles? Naturally, there are always growing pains. I definitely experienced painful moments in 2015. I am still working on things, but with a little more compassion for myself. Although I live my life out loud on social media and this blog, my personal intentions and limitations are just that, personal. Maybe, I’ll share what I’m working on at some point, but not today. Rest assured, my to-do list for 2016 is plenty long.

What do I hope for you my sweet lovelies in 2016? I hope you trust yourself a little more. I hope you have the courage to go after the things you want. I hope you believe the world is full of opportunity and potential. I hope you care less about what other people think and worry only if you are living a life consistent with who you want to be. I hope you share time with people who tell you that you can move mountains and chase the stars. I hope you smile at people who remind you of your limitations, knowing they’re wrong.

I hope you get to see Adele in concert because Lord knows I tried to get those tickets.

So, my sweet lovelies, let us see what 2016 will bring. I’m thinking it will be magical.

“Should auld acquaintance be forgot
And never brought to mind
Should auld acquaintance be forgot
And days of auld lang syne
And there’s a hand, my trusty friend
And gie’s a hand to thine
We’ll take a cup of kindness yet
For auld lang syne”

Love.

Leave a Reply

