My Cuddle Bunny

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.” 
 Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

I read a research study this week and it made me think of my relationship with Mr. Beard. Researchers in the 1970’s were examining how high levels of certain toxins would affect the health of groups of bunnies.

After weeks of injecting the bunnies with various toxins they were confused as to why all but one group of bunnies were getting sick. Under close examination, they found that one researcher was cuddling, petting, and loving the bunnies. The group of bunnies that did not get sick was the group that was getting the cuddles.

I understand that animal research is a necessary evil and that the cuddly researcher probably caused challenges for the study. But, sometimes when we are looking for a certain answer we find something else, something more valuable. In this study they learned, that love can literally save lives, even in the worst circumstances.

Well, Mr. Beard is my sneaky researcher. When life hits me with its best shots he grabs me up and cuddles the toxins right out of me. When waves of depression and anxiety take over he will cuddle me on the bathroom floor until I have the strength to stand on my own. He has always just known that it is not about saying anything in those moments but all about holding me tightly.  I know that his cuddles have saved my life time and time again.

So, Mr. Beard, my sneaky cuddly researcher, I am so happy you were born. Thank you for cuddling me through the hard times. I love you more than you will ever know.

“These are my favourite chords.
I know you like them too.
When I get a new guitar, you can have this one and sing me a lullaby.
Sing me the alphabet.
Sing me a story I haven’t heard yet.” The Weakerthans, My Favourite Chords

Leave a Reply

