The Smell of Adventure!

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.”
Eleanor Roosevelt

In a few days, my partner and I will set off on our next great adventure: Brazil! I live for adventure, experience, excitement, people, and places. I’m always dreaming of and fantasizing about where I could go, what I could do, and who we could meet.

For me, life is adventure. Each day brings with it the potential for new and exciting experiences. I let go of the idea that I had control over much of the happenings in my life long ago. This allows me to meet each day and each experience with curiosity. I try not to force my will on the events of a day which often allows me to be more flexible with the outcome.

My personality is part explorer and part recluse. I’m brimming with nervous energy as we prepare to spend time in a different part of the world. Unlike my partner, I tend to do a lot less research about where we’re going. I like to see things first hand. I want to know how it feels to see Christ the Redeemer in person and I want to feel the sand in my toes at Ipanema beach.

I am incredibly grateful that my partner has learned a lot of the language and immersed himself in the travel guides. This proves helpful in terms of the practicality of adventure. I just prefer to go out and be surprised by the world. Before, I knew him, I would adventure by myself or with friends. I never had a check list or a to do list. Now, I can appreciate the benefits of knowing a little more about where I’m going but I’m still not the person to do the planning.

There is this moment, when we reach the airport and we are waiting to board when I feel almost manic or euphoric. I have no idea what to expect. I don’t know what will happen when I get off the plane. I barely know what I’m going to see because I’ve done so little research. This not knowing is what I live for. It is equally what exhausts me about traveling.

When I return, I will retreat for several months. During this time, I like to have mini- weekend adventures (and build up vacation time and money) but I need to rest up for another long haul. We will be planning our next great adventure while we walk the streets of Rio. These great adventures are like stepping stones pulling me through the monotony of my daily grind. Again, I love structure but I need to balance it with worldly exploration.

Alas, I’m not packed, the laundry is sky high, the dogs need to get to Grammy and Beepas, the banks need to be called, and I need to stop writing and get some of these things done.

Love.

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”
“I don’t much care where –”
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.”
Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

