My Sister: The One With The Sweet Voice

“You can kid the world, but not your sister.”
Charlotte Gray

My sweet sister, I am so happy you were born.

I don’t think I’ve ever told you that I love your voice. Even when you’re mad, you still have the sweetest mouse voice. I mean, you’re literally a boss lady but you have the most soothing and calming voice I’ve ever heard. Maybe that’s part of why you’re such an exceptional momma.

And, you’ve been comforting me my whole life. There was the one time we watched that horrifying Freddy Kreuger movie and I made you hold my hand all night and woke you up every five minutes asking if Freddy was here. You calmly said “No, he’s not here” again, and again and again. Then, there was the big health scare I had in college and I told you I didn’t know what to do and you picked me up and took me to your doctor and we figured it out.

Even when I was being a selfish shithead in my twenties (and I probably still can be selfish sometimes), you had an open door policy. If I needed my laundry done, I needed to use your address for something, I needed food, or I needed to call you in the middle of the night, you were there.

In addition to your unconditional support, I admire your resilience and courage. You don’t quit, it’s not in your DNA. You get up and dust yourself off better than anyone I know (Andrew is pretty good at this too). You just keep going no matter how hard the situation. I’ve watched as the world tossed you hardball after hardball and you batted those buggers away time and time again. People should not assume that your sweet voice is associated with weakness because you are one of the strongest people I know.

I want to tell you that one of my biggest life regrets is that I was not able to step out of my shithead pity party to come to your wedding. The way your husband looks at you is heart melting. I am so happy you have so much love in your life.

I can’t wait to celebrate your day of birth with Salt-N-Pepa in a few weeks.

“She had a little rebel in her. A little chaos and a little gentleness. She didn’t say much and sometimes she would doze off. She would drift away, dream with the stars and that was ok. She had a little fight in her and every time she built enough courage her voice would echo through the sky…There was a science to her genius, her madness, her beauty and there was nothing she couldn’t accomplish. She was unstoppable and everything she ever wanted she took, with nothing on but a smile.”

~ R. M. Drake

One thought on “My Sister: The One With The Sweet Voice

Leave a Reply

