Bad Mood Rising.

“I was stressed and scared and I had to hurry to be someone, become something, do something. I was running and talking and cursed myself when I wasted my time on things that wouldn’t get me anywhere. It was work and it was money and I was never where I was, always somewhere else in my head far, far away.”
Charlotte Eriksson, Empty Roads & Broken Bottles; in search for The Great Perhaps

I’m not sure how, where, or why but I caught some grouchy feelings today. Oh my.

What to do when you’re in a bad mood?

Let yourself be in a bad mood. If I try to talk myself out of it, it just feels worse and lasts longer.

So, don’t beat yourself up. I’m a human not a robot and that means I’m going to feel all kinds of ways (maybe all in the same day) and that’s fine. I’m not going to kick myself when I’m feeling down.

It’s okay to be in a bad mood but it’s not okay to be mean. Let the people you share time with know that you’re stuggling or they will be certain they’ve done something wrong and your mood is about them. Humans are particularly self-focused and we make things about us that have nothing to do with us. My current mood is mine to deal with and no one deserves to be a punching bag for me to manage my emotions. 

Listen to bad mood music. I’m feeling a little Ani Difranco. I might even listen to something sad to see if crying will help me move through this. We’ll see how it goes.

Take some space. This way you are less likely to burn someone with your mood. It’s best to treat our emotions as clues and my mood might be a clue that I’m overwhelmed, sad, scared, or tired. It’s time to get curious and some space is required.

Do something creative. For me, writing helps. For others painting, singing, photography, or drawing. It helps to get it out somehow.

Take a nap. Or, just rest a bit. When we’re in a bad mood our muscles tend to tighten. It’s good to take some deep breaths and relax your muscles.

Work out. Some light exercise always seems to help some.

Don’t try to fix it and don’t let anyone else try and fix it. It’s not necessary there is nothing broken. It’s okay to be in a bad mood and it’s best to let it pass through and/or get curious about what’s going on with you. It helps to have someone just listen if I feel like talking but please don’t offer suggestions or ideas (unless I ask).

“Writing is mostly a case of mood management. The emotion you have is not absolute, it is temporary. It may be useful, but it is not the truth. It is not you.”
Anne Enright

Leave a Reply

