My Tattoos Are Trashy.

“Show me a man with a tattoo and I’ll show you a man with an interesting past.”
Jack London

One night, almost ten years ago, by best friend and I were dancing our hearts out. He was visiting me not long after I moved away and he proposed we get matching tattoos. I thought we were making drunk plans and I agreed. The next morning I woke to him looking up places we could go to get a tattoo in area. Next thing I knew, I was getting my first tattoo. It’s a purple flower on my foot. It matches the purple flower on his foot. In the middle of the flower are our initials.

On my shoulder is the word love. Anyone that knows me knows that love is everything to me. Love is my religion. This tattoo matches the one on my aunt’s wrist and it matches the one on my grandmother’s chest. My grandmother’s love tattoo is placed where she lost a breast to cancer decades ago. It is our tribe stamp. Do you want to know how tattoos look when you get older? Well, my grandmother got her first tattoo in her seventies and it looks pretty boss so I’m confident I’ll be just fine.

Also on my shoulder are crossing arrows. This tattoo matches my husband and three of our closest friends. It symbolizes our friendship and connection. I placed it over the love tattoo because at the intersection of my relationships is love.

I’m preparing for my next tattoo. I’ve been eyeballing Banksy’s Girl With The Red Balloon. This tattoo will be just for me and it represents eternal hope.

Maybe before you judge someone’s body art as trashy you could consider that what people put on their bodies has some significance to them. Even a bad tattoo or a tattoo someone regrets has a story.

“I am a canvas of my experiences, my story is etched in lines and shading, and you can read it on my arms, my legs, my shoulders, and my stomach.”
Kat Von D

Love.

Leave a Reply

