I’m Sorry, I Love You, Thank You

“Dr. Len explained that total responsibility for your life means that everything in your life – simply because it is in your life–is your responsibility. In a literal sense the entire world is your creation.”

I heard a story this week about a Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len. He is/was a medicine man/psychologist in Hawaii. The story goes, Dr. Len was hired to work in a psychiatric hospital but instead of working directly with the patients he asked to simply read their files. He took each file, read the story, and then mediated for several moments with the person in mind. His mediation practice is termed Hoʻoponopono.

The practice involves bringing the suffering of yourself or someone else to mind and repeating the phrases: I’m sorry, I love you, and Thank you. This practice is intended to bring about a deep sense of love and compassion and with this comes miraculous healing. With each phrase the person is supposed to pause and allow themselves to feel how it feels to extend those feelings to themselves or someone else. Humans are not great at holding their feelings, even the good ones (especially the good ones).

Legend has it, that Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len healed the entire hospital with this technique. Naturally, most of me struggles with how that could happen. But, I have seen the healing power of unconditional love in my own life. Part of me can’t believe it’s that simple but as I watch the world around me perpetuate anger and hate, I think it just might be that simple. And, it sure doesn’t hurt to try.

I’m sorry, I love you, Thank you.

Leave a Reply

