I Will Forgive You – Desmond Tutu

I will forgive you

The words are so small

But there is a universe hidden in them

When I forgive you

All those cords of resentment, pain, and sadness that had wrapped themselves around my heart will be gone

When I forgive you

You will no longer define me

You measured me and assessed me and decided you could hurt me

I didn’t count

But I will forgive you

Because I do count

I do matter

I am bigger than the image you have of me

I am stronger

I am more beautiful

And I am infinitely more precious than you thought me

I will forgive you

My forgiveness is not a gift I am giving you

When I forgive you

My forgiveness will be a gift that gives itself to me

Taken from “The Book of Forgiving” by Desmond Tutu and Mpho Tutu

Love.

 

 

Leave a Reply

