Yes, I’m Butt Hurt

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

First, I want to officially end the use of the term butt hurt. Where did it come from? Why does your butt hurt? Stop doing things that hurt your butt.

Moving on, I keep seeing posts on social media about how I’m butt hurt because Trump is our president. I’m assuming that means, I’m not happy with the fact that he’s president, that would be a correct assertion.

After Obama was elected, I was talking to a colleague about how upset I was about what I was seeing on social media. She looked at me and said “unfriend them” and I had a revelation, I have permission to make social media safe for me. So, I often unfriend or unfollow (I unfollow if I really like you but your posts upset me and I don’t want to stop liking you). I know people have done the same to me and that is A-OK. We’re not all meant to like each other or agree. Diversity!

I think that social media is an incredible tool to help mobilize movements and connect people with shared values. I do not think it needs to feel like I’m chewing razorblades when I log on.

Next, as challenging as this week has been I am comforted by a few things. First, my friends, family, and manager are some of the best people on this planet. I will never know how I got so lucky to share my life with these people. I am better, braver, and smarter because of my circle of influence. Second, historically speaking, when you fight for human rights you are always on the right side of history but often in the minority. People calling me butt hurt (seriously with that phrase?) are trying to shame me into submission or into agreement and that will never happen.

Listen, this country had a WAR, A WAR, over whether or not we could OWN HUMANS AS SLAVES, A WAR (when I use caps I am screaming as I type). There were so many people that wanted the right to own  humans as slaves that we had to go to war. Minority groups have always had to fight the majority for human rights that’s how this works.

But…

WE own this country. We, of all shapes, sizes, colors, faiths, beliefs, values, and on and on.

I’m not butt hurt, I’m patriotic. I am an active part of the WE and I will always be and active part of the WE. I will always look out for the parts of WE that are not being treated fairly. That’s my dedication and service to this country: to protect the WE.

We owned it under Obama and WE STILL own it under Trump. That’s how this shit works.

Yours truly,

The patriotic butt hurt snowflake

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Mead

Love.

(featured image is a poem by nayyirah waheed you should buy her book and read her poetry)

Leave a Reply

